The different faces of Eau thermale d’Avène...

Pure and natural, Avène Thermal Spring Water is a precious resource, respected by all and closely monitored and protected.

Deep and mysterious, Avène Thermal Spring Water reveals more about itself every day.

A water shaped by its unique mineral and biological wealth, there are undoubtedly other secrets just waiting to be discovered over time. Effective and active, Avène Thermal Spring Water is the source of a well known product range recognized worldwide.

With international Brand status, Eau Thermale Avène is present in more than 100 countries around the world and is constantly growing.

For cultural reasons, the Brand decided to establish itself initially in Japan, where water is a very symbolic link to purifying religious rituals.

The Avène Brand then grew exponentially within a very short period of time not only in southern Europe (France, Greece, Italy, Spain and Portugal) where the Pierre Fabre Group is a historical player, but also across other continents.
Driven by innovative, ground-breaking and targeted cleansing and skin care launches both in mature and emerging countries, Eau Thermale Avène today generates 70%* of its turnover internationally.

*in 2013

This special relationship began with a meeting that took place in the early 80’s:

A meeting between Mr. Pierre Fabre and Mr. Yoshiharu Fukuhara, Shiseido founder's grandson who then became the company's CEO in 1987. At that time, Mr. Fukuhara introduced Mr. Fabre to Mr. Takushi Mizuno: A renowned, influential and award-winning Japanese designer who, after many years at Shiseido, joined Pierre Fabre Japan as artistic advisor in charge of the graphical universe of the Avène Brand.

These years of working together were described by Mr. Mizuno as follows:

“The frequent encounters with Mr. P. Fabre were characterized by a profound trust...Mr. Fabre was an exceptional and insightful person who always listened to what others had to say before making his decision. I have been doing this job for some time now and rarely had the opportunity to present my creations with such detail and intensity.”

Genesis of the Avène spiral

  1. Before creating the spiral, now the world-recognized emblematic signature of the Avène Brand, Takushi Mizuno travelled all around Japan to visit water springs as a source of inspiration:“I remember watching the water spring of the Fuji mountain or Kumamoto […], this inspired me and gave me the technical answer to help me draw this phenomenon.”
  2. While visiting Avène's Hydrotherapy Center and the exact location where the spring emerges, Mr. Mizuno was impressed by the peacefulness of his surroundings and drew the spiral in a single motion:“It represents an aerial view of the spring. The spiral is the symbol of water reaching out in all its purity and gentleness towards Humankind. It represents nature in its entirety for the whole product range.”
  3. In 2001, the spiral signature of the Brand was updated with two pink dots,one above the other. This graphic evolution that only appears on the Spray is also a creation of Takushi Mizuno.
    Apart from its pure esthetic appeal, these two dots "symbolize energy. The smaller dot represents the Spring's energy while the bigger one characterizes the energetic affect of Avène Thermal Spring Water on the skin.
    The link between the dots and the spiral "expresses a tridimentional representation of the eternity of Water that springs from deep within the earth free from the concept of time and space as well as the energy that Water brings with it from the Spring directly to the skin."
  4. In 2009, the spiral is renewed in keeping with the Brand's graphical charter. The objective was to simplify it and make it blend with an even purer and more elegant decor. The lines are fine, elegant, simple yet modern and use the same delicate pink that characterizes the Brand.
    These packs demonstrate sobriety and refined lines. We kept only essential information and text to avoid visual overload and improve legibility. Distinction and elegance are genuine values of the Eau Thermale Avène Brand.

2010: the Brand's 20th anniversary

To prolong the style of the spiral created 25 years ago and reassert the long-standing partnership between Pierre Fabre and Takushi Mizuno, 6 drawings were especially created for our Avène Spring Water Sprays. These were inspired by patients faces while at the Hydrotherapy Center. “Since most of the patients were women, children and young people…I decided to use the faces and expressions of young people. The face is a universal image. And as it had to fit on the limited available space on the Spray, I began working on the image of the face and then created the surrounding decors.” These original creations will be gradually revealed year after year.

2014

The girl child

“This drawing represents a child full of life.” It expresses “my desire to rediscover the spirit of the tom boy , after treatment[…] This is the idea I had when I started  to create this drawing.” Takushi Mizuno. The girl child. 2013. Rotring on Kent Paper. Tokyo

2015

THE MIRROR

“When an eczema patient has been treated, they want to communicate with others again and at the same time they enjoy looking at themselves in the mirror again […]. As the surface of the Spray is curved, the 2 faces tend to become separated and the real difficulty has been getting them as close together as possible.” Takushi Mizuno. The mirror. 2013. Rotring on Kent Paper. Tokyo

2016

THE FLOWER WOMAN

“This drawing speaks for itself […]. It shows a pretty, charming girl, surrounded by flowers” Takushi Mizuno. The flower woman. 2013. Rotring on Kent Paper. Tokyo

2017

REFINEMENT

This drawing was used “to set it apart from drawings that had depicted young subjects up until then.” Takushi Mizuno. Refinement. 2013. Rotring on Kent Paper. Tokyo

Send by email
  • Personalised skincare advice
  • Special offers & contests
  • Reviews about your favorite products

Everyone’s skin has different needs,
find your perfect Eau Thermale Avène routine.

Start now
  • Product recommandations to solve your skin concerns
  • Access to your favorite products & reviews
  • Record of your purchases to reward your loyalty
Sign up now

Ongoing search

Login required

You must log into your Avène account to save this information.


Login or create an account

Les visages de l’Eau thermale d’Avène...

Pure et naturelle, l’Eau thermale d’Avène est une ressource précieuse respectée, surveillée et protégée.

Profonde et mystérieuse, l’Eau thermale d’Avène se découvre davantage chaque jour. Riche de son patrimoine minéral et biologique unique, elle préserve sans nul doute d’autres secrets qu’elle révèlera au fil du temps.

Efficace et active, l’Eau thermale d’Avène est à la source d’une gamme de soins connue et reconnue dans le monde entier.

Eau Thermale Avène est une Marque internationale, présente dans plus de 100 pays dans le monde, qui connaît un développement constant.

C’est au Japon que la Marque s’est d’abord implantée pour des raisons culturelles car l’eau y bénéficie d’une symbolique forte liée aux rites purificateurs religieux.

Puis de façon exponentielle et dans un temps très court, la Marque Eau Thermale Avène s’est développée en Europe du sud dans les pays où le Groupe Pierre Fabre était historiquement présent : France, Grèce, Italie, Espagne, Portugal … avant de s’étendre aux pays des autres continents.
Promue par des lancements innovants, originaux et ciblés en matière d’hygiène et de soin de la peau dans les pays dits matures mais aussi par la croissance des pays émergents, la Marque Eau Thermale Avène réalise aujourd’hui 70 %* de son chiffre d’affaires à l’international.

*Année 2013

La place particulière qu’a occupée et qu’occupe toujours le Japon est due à une rencontre au début des années 1980 :

Celle de M. Pierre Fabre et de M. Yoshiharu Fukuhara, petit-fils du fondateur de Shiseido, et qui en devient président directeur général en 1987. C’est à cette période que M. Fukuhara présente à M. Fabre un designer japonais renommé et influent, lauréat de nombreux prix : M. Mizuno.
Ce dernier intègre Pierre Fabre Japon en qualité de Conseiller artistique après une éminente carrière chez Shiseido, et veille alors sur l’univers graphique de la Marque Avène.

Ces nombreuses années de collaboration, M. Mizuno les résume ainsi :

«Les rencontres [avec M. P. Fabre] étaient régulières et empreintes d’une très forte relation de confiance. M. Fabre était une personne brillante, perspicace qui écoutait avec beaucoup d’attention avant de rendre sa décision. Cela fait longtemps que j’exerce ce métier et je n’ai pas souvent eu l’occasion de présenter mes créations avec autant d’intensité.»

Genèse de la spirale Avène

  1. A l’époque de la création de la spirale Avène, devenue depuis la signature emblématique de la Marque Eau Thermale Avène dans le monde, Takushi Mizuno se déplace beaucoup, au Japon, pour visiter différents points d’émergence de sources : «Par exemple, au pied du Mont Fuji ou à Kumamoto […], je regardais comment l’eau jaillissait et cela m’a donné l’inspiration ou plutôt la réponse technique pour dessiner ce phénomène.»
  2. Lorsqu’il se rend à la Station thermale d’Avène, sur le lieu d’émergence de la Source, il est impressionné par la quiétude des lieux et dessine alors, d’un seul mouvement, la spirale d’Avène. «Elle est la représentation de la Source vue de dessus. La spirale est le symbole de l’eau qui jaillit, de sa pureté et de sa douceur envers l’Homme. Pour l’ensemble des produits, elle exprime l’étendue de la nature.»
  3. Au cours de l’année 2001, deux points roses, l’un au-dessus de l’autre, viennent rehausser la signature en forme de spirale de la Marque. Cette évolution graphique, propre à l’Eau thermale Avène et présente sur le seul Spray, est également due à Takushi Mizuno.
    Au-delà de toute considération purement esthétique, ces deux points : «symbolisent l’énergie. Le petit point correspond à l’énergie de la Source elle-même tandis que le grand caractérise l’énergie de l’Eau thermale d’Avène agissant sur la peau.»
    L’association des points à la spirale : «exprime une représentation tridimensionnelle de l’éternité de l’Eau qui surgit des profondeurs de la terre échappant à la notion d’espace-temps et de l’énergie de cette Eau apportée à la Source de la peau.»
  4. En 2009, la spirale est renouvelée, toujours dans le respect de la charte graphique de la Marque, pour être simplifiée afin de s’intégrer dans un décor lui aussi davantage épuré. Dessinée d’un trait fin et élégant, toujours dans le ton rose qui la caractérise, elle contribue à la simplicité et à la modernité du décor.
    Ce dernier est caractérisé par une grande sobriété et des lignes épurées où seules les informations essentielles sont maintenues. En réduisant au minimum les textes, on évite ainsi toute surcharge visuelle qui pollue la lisibilité. Ce recours à une grande sobriété exprime également la vraie volonté d’élégance et de distinction de la Marque Eau Thermale Avène.

2010 : 20 ans de la Marque

Afin de prolonger le style inauguré il y a maintenant 25 ans avec la spirale et marquer avec plus d’emphase cette collaboration de longue date entre messieurs P. Fabre et T. Mizuno, 6 dessins ont été créés spécialement pour le Spray d’Eau thermale Avène. Ils s’inspirent des visages de curistes rencontrés à la Station thermale : «Dans ma réflexion, j’ai pris en compte que les plus nombreux y sont les femmes, les enfants et les jeunes curistes … J’ai donc plutôt choisi de jeunes visages ou des expressions jeunes […]. Le visage est le propre de l’Homme. Comme il devait être présent sur une surface limitée [du Spray], j’ai commencé à travailler le visage puis j’ai ensuite créé le décor.»
Au rythme d’une création originale annuelle, ces dessins seront dévoilés au fil des années.

2014

La gamine

«Ce dessin représente un enfant plein de vie.» Il exprime «mon souhait de retrouver l’esprit garçon manqué, après la cure […]. Dès la création de ce dessin, j’avais cette idée en tête.» Takushi Mizuno. La gamine. 2013. Rotring sur Papier Kent. Tokyo

2015

Le miroir

«Quand l’eczéma est traité, on reprend goût à communiquer avec les autres et, en même temps, on a du plaisir à se regarder dans un miroir […]. Comme la surface du Spray est bombée, les deux visages ont tendance à se séparer et la difficulté a été de les réunir le plus proche possible.» Takushi Mizuno. Le miroir. 2013. Rotring sur Papier Kent. Tokyo

2016

La femme fleur

«Ce dessin parle de lui-même [...]. C’est une fille mignonne et charmante entourée de fleurs.» Takushi Mizuno. La femme fleur. 2013. Rotring sur Papier Kent. Tokyo

2017

Raffinement

Ce dessin a été créé «pour se différencier de ceux avec des sujets jeunes, dessinés jusque-là.» Takushi Mizuno. Raffinement. 2013. Rotring sur Papier Kent. Tokyo

Envoyé par courriel
  • Des conseils de soins personnalisés
  • Offres spéciales & concours
  • Avis à propos de vos produits préférés

Chaque peau a des besoins très particuliers,
trouvez votre rituel de soins Eau Thermale Avène.

Commencer maintenant
  • Produits recommandés pour résoudre vos problèmes de peau
  • L'accès à vos produits préférés et commentaires
  • Enregistrement de vos achats pour récompenser votre fidélité
Inscrivez-vous maintenant

Recherche en cours

Login required

You must log into your Avène account to save this information.


Login or create an account